New York Times Video Portrait

3 Apr

Click below to watch:

 

 

 

 

 

Follow @suleikajaouad on Twitter and on her Facebook Page.

9 Responses to “New York Times Video Portrait”

  1. weimaranerwench April 4, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    I’ve always wondered — why can’t they just put us in a coma for a few mos while we go through all this ‘therapy’? Any MDs out there?

    HOLD STEADY, Suleika.

  2. Ahmad April 4, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    you are awesome. can’t say more !!

  3. janehdavis April 4, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I have been following your posts for quite a while now. You are an amazingly strong woman. I am so pleased that the NY Times picked up your story as you have such a unique way of writing. My husband has stage 4 lymphoma and by reading your posts, you are giving us hope. I have you in my thoughts and wish you only the best. Thank you.

  4. Georgia April 4, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    I had commented some time ago but I just wanted to say that I’m still here – still following your story and thinking of you. The NYT video was beautiful and I’m glad to see that you are scraping some good (writing) out of what is a crap set of cards. As a mom of a little one with leukemia, I was touched to see your mom in the video and imagine what this is like for her. She’s right that, at least for me, with a two-year old, I get to baby her as much as I want. I get to do everything for her, which is both overwhelming, but also satisfying because she is still my little baby and I can treat her as such. I imagine, in her heart, you are still her baby – but an adult, as well. I really felt your mother’s heart ache, looking at her face, in that one shot of you in the clinic.

    I like the above, “Hold Steady.” Indeed.

  5. mainelyhopeful April 4, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    You’re an amazing young lady. I loved seeing you “in person” and will continue to follow your journey, rooting for you all the way ❤

  6. wwansin April 4, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    I am very moved by your honesty and bravery:)

  7. Rob April 7, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Thinking, hoping, praying.
    Thank you for helping me understand.

    Rob

  8. Rob Coughlin April 7, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Su Su

    Thinking, hoping, praying.

    Thank you for helping me understand.

    Hugs from your neighbor.

    Rob

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life, Interrupted « The Bone Marrow Foundation - April 4, 2012

    […] Suleika can be viewed on the New York Times website by clicking here or on Suleika’s blog by clicking here. Share […]

Thoughts, questions, feedback on this post? Leave a reply

