Column Debut

3 Apr

Life, Interrupted: Facing Cancer in Your 20s

By SULEIKA JAOUAD
Suleika Jaouad
Photo Credit: Emma Dodge Hanson

“I was so excited for what lay ahead, I nearly forgot to wave goodbye to my parents. Armed with a college diploma, my first job offer, a one-way ticket to Paris and a new pair of heels, I was ready to take on anything. Little did I know, I would be back in New York seven short months later. But my parents would not be taking pictures at the airport or chatting about my future plans. I would be in a wheelchair, too weak to walk.”

Continue reading, here.
Follow @suleikajaouad on Twitter and on her Facebook Page.
8 Responses to “Column Debut”

  1. mainelyhopeful April 3, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Excellent piece!

  2. Michael Levy April 3, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Suleika… we’re all holding your hand at the same time. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

    Michael Levy
    Denver, CO

  3. Sage Tamura April 3, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I am really inspired and encouraged from your honest piece of story and really encouraged and inspired. I am determined to fortyfy my attitude of gratitude from now on, just to be able to live.

    Thank you! ( and You look so sexy & beautiful with your new hair cut!! Damn! )

    Sage Tamura

  4. Gaetane April 3, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Dear Suleika,
    This is another fine piece of writing. Food for thought…thank you for that.
    I often think about you and keep my fingers crossed for the transplant.
    What a gorgeous smile on this picture! You’re just amazing…keep smiling!
    Gaetane

  5. Dawn April 3, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Dear Suleika,
    I was diagnosed with CML 18 months ago at the age of 44 (I was only several weeks from being classified as acute) so I can empathize with your situation. I love your posts and particularly the last sentence in this one where you state that you don’t know what the future brings but you want to be there, you expressed my sentiments so precisely. Please know that you are in my prayers and wishing you a successful transplant. All the best, Dawn

  6. Chachski Corona April 4, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    So happy I came across this piece in my daily health media monitoring for work – you are a true inspiration and blessed with an incredible ability to write. I know I am one of the many that look forward to your writing about this experience. As the daughter of a Lymphoma survivor (mother), I commend you for your strength. As a fellow twenty-something year old, I admire your courage in taking this “defining” time in our lives with confidence and beauty. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. Kenza April 4, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Suleika, your article was so powerful and inspiring. Never lose your optimism and keep fighting!

  8. east30s April 10, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    My 75 year old uncle was diagnosed with AML 2 yrs ago……he went thru the monthly consolidation that made him on and off sick during his hospital stays but im happy to report he is in remission and has been well for over 1 yr and even travelled to Europe with his entire family last summer….GOOD LUCK TO YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thoughts, questions, feedback on this post? Leave a reply

