An Update on Today’s Biopsy

12 Jan

By SULEIKA JAOUAD 

First of all, I want to thank everyone–my friends, family, and supporters–for keeping me in their thoughts and prayers today. I am so touched and inspired by the overwhelmingly positive response I’ve received about my blog.

Here’s the scoop on today’s biopsy results: my disease is not getting more aggressive. My doctors would like to do one to two more rounds of treatment.  I start treatment again this Saturday. This means I will be getting my bone marrow transplant in March or April.

In the past few days, many of you have offered to get tested to be a donor. Saying ‘thank you’ feels like an understatement. In fact, I am tremendously lucky that my 21-year-old brother, Adam, is a perfect 10-out-of-10 match on the donor scale.

As a friend wrote to me the other day: “Modern science is miraculous, and so very often are kid brothers.”

I would, however, encourage everyone who hasn’t already signed up for the bone marrow registry to do so. The process is so simple: all they do is swab the inside of your mouth with a q-tip and you’re out the door. Not to mention, it’s not everyday that you get to position yourself to save a life.

You can even get creative with it. My boyfriend’s coworker organized a bone marrow drive in their office. It was easy to put together, and they signed up lots of new donors.

A special note, the national bone marrow registry has a shortage of donors from minority ethnic groups. As a Swiss-Tunisian, doctors said I was lucky my brother was a match. The chances of finding a close genetic match may have otherwise been slim.

Sign up for the registry here.

*If you live in upstate NY, you have the potential to save a life this week! Emily Ziegler, a junior in high school from Queensbury, was recently diagnosed with leukemia. Help her on Jan. 12 by coming to the bone marrow drive for her.

My brother and me, moments after finding out he was a 10-out-of-10 match.

 

Follow @suleikajaouad on Twitter and on her Facebook Page.

10 Responses to “An Update on Today’s Biopsy”

  1. Michael Yarinsky January 12, 2012 at 1:25 am #

    Frenchy saves the day!

  2. Allison January 12, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Great news!! More postive thoughts your way in the days and months to come xoxo

  3. Peter Mark Nelson January 12, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    I’m happy that you had good results from your test. I will continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Judy January 12, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    What wonderful news, Susu! My thoughts are with you and your family and I send healing hugs in your direction xoxoxoxooxoooxooxoxoxoxo!
    Judy Sugarman

  5. Nicolette Asselin January 12, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    sounds like a positive outcome. Our fingers are crossed tightly for you.

  6. Diane C. Fisher January 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    That is good news! Thanks for keeping us up to date. Saying daily prayers for you!

  7. André January 13, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    I am very happy to hear about this news. My sincere wishes of a speedy recovery. Good luck!

  8. Mary Schlesinger January 13, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    I’m so happy to read the good news. Even though we’ve never met, I read, read again, and think about you. You are very brave and your thoughts clear and strong. Hold steady, Suleika. We’re all on this rollercoaster ride together and await your next post.

  9. fcuknt May 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    i am a year younger than you, and found your blog only because i’ve been wondering if i’m gutsy enough to get… a hair tattoo. (yours is really nice!)
    but i’ve been reading for about two hours now, and i’m in tears. thank you for brave enough to share your life, pain, guilt, joys with the world, and thank you for being such an amazing person with such an incredible spirit.
    i just called my local bone marrow registry to set up an appointment (:
    sending hugs and well-wishes your way ❤

    • suleikajaouad June 9, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      This made my day. Thank you for reading my story and for taking the initiative to save another’s life. Hope that hair tattoo turned out well! xox

Thoughts, questions, feedback on this post? Leave a reply

